Imprint is an ability word introduced in the Mirrodin Block and re-introduced in the Scars of Mirrodin block. An ability word has no inherent rules that are tied to it, instead it is used to signify a connection among a number of abilities.
Imprint denotes an ability that exiles a card or cards from the game. These cards can be from the library or they might be from the hand, the battlefield, or the graveyard. All cards which use Imprint have another ability which refers to the exiled card or some feature of it.
Example Cards