Catchy Title
Deadpool is a Magic: The Gathering card now, and in flavorful fashion, it is exceptionally annoying. Of the handful of Marvel characters to get mechanically unique cards so far, it seems Deadpool, Trading Card, is the one causing the most commotion. One, because of its powerful, game-altering text, and two, for its ability to cause a game to stop and make the entire table go "Wait ... how does this work?" In a game filled with complex mechanics, somehow Deadpool seems to get his grubby little hands on each of them. So today, let's go over the most important rulings to know when playing with (or against) Deadpool, Trading Card in 936 words or less
Super Hero Landing
Deadpool, Trading Card's first line of text reads "As Deadpool enters, you may exchange his text box and another creature's." Similar to Clone effects like Phyrexian Metamorph, Deadpool's text-changing replacement effect applies as it resolves, not when it enters the battlefield. This is important for a couple of reasons. Firstly, Deadpool's effect is not a trigger, which means its text-changing never goes on the stack and does not cause a round of priority. It also doesn't target, meaning you do not need to declare which text box you are changing until it has happened, plus it can take the text of cards with Shroud and Hexproof, since, once again, we aren't targeting. This means that when you cast Deadpool, the only time your opponents can choose if they want to do something is while it is on the Stack. The moment Deadpool resolves, it can take the text box of any creatures, regardless of Shroud, Ward, or Hexproof, and your opponents can't do anything in response to you picking which text box you are taking. In addition, since Deadpool gains the text as it enters, it will get any Enter the Battlefield triggers of the text box it swaps with. All of this makes Deadpool an exceptionally difficult card to interact with because the only realistic way to avoid having a textbox stolen is to remove the creature you want to protect from the battlefield.
Wait, if I'm you, and you're me, then whose driving the bus?
So Deadpool has entered and has swapped text boxes with a creature (sad). What would happen if someone were to clone it? Well, that new Deadpool's effect will still get to swap text boxes. The swapped text box is not copyable. If you have an ability that makes copies of Deadpool, those copies will have Deadpool's original text and will get to swap their text boxes as well. Let's say your Deadpool took the textbox of a creature with Myriad like Battle Angels Of Tyr. When Deadpool attacks, myriad will make copies of Deadpool (with its original text), entering and attacking. Each of those copies exchanges text as they enter, and unless another effect is preventing it, they would all die to the legend rule after entering. The same is true if you use an undying effect on Deadpool, like Malakir Rebirth // Malakir Mire. Deadpool will die, you will still get any death trigger associated with the text box you took, and then it will reenter with its original text and can swap another text box.
That's Crazy, we have the same last name!
Let's say Deadpool takes the text box of a card that refers to itself by name, like Alexios, Deimos of Kosmos. Well, it turns out cards that refer to themselves by name are not checking their exact name. If Deadpool took the Textbox of Alexios, even though Deadpool's name would not change, it would gain all of the abilities that affect Alexios. That's because, largely speaking, most abilities are looking to refer to "this object," and Deadpool has become the object of reference.
How much more could there possibly be
Okay, those are the big ones, but let's cover some smaller, niche case rulings.
If Deadpool takes the ability of a card that is temporarily a creature, like a Mutavault, It can still exchange text boxes, and Deadpool will keep that text permanently.
The same is true if Deadpool exchanges text with a vehicle. Since Deadpool is a creature by default, it does not need to crew to become a creature. You can still crew Deadpool (gross), but it is not needed.
If Deadpool swaps with a Mutated creature, it will have the text of the entire, collective mutated permanent.
Deadpool can swap text boxes with creatures that have no abilities.
If Deadpool dies, and has the effect of a creature that brings it back as an enchantment, such as Enduring Courage, it will come back and can exchange text boxes again, just as a non-creature enchantment
If Deadpool takes the effect of a card like Lord of Extinction, it will take its characteristic defining ability, and that creature will lose it.
If Deadpool takes the ability of a creature that also has a replacement effect, like Xantcha, Sleeper Agent, that card's replacement effect will also be applied.
If Deadpool is cast with Blitz using a card like Henzie "Toolbox" Torre, it will exchange text boxes as it enters, but it will still have the Haste and die triggers given to the permanent through Blitz.
The next paragraph has to be the conclusion, right?
That about covers the most common interactions that will come up when playing with or against Deadpool, Trading Card. Chances are that this card will continue to cause headaches as it grows in popularity, but it's hard to argue that the chaos isn't kinda fun. Hopefully, this article helps the next time you have to face off against the merc!
"Be you, Be Free, Live Happily"