Fire And Ice Sale Ends Sunday!
   Sign In
Create Account

Magic Wins Again in Spectrum 26 Awards


It is that time of year again, and the art annual Spectrum is coming out in a few short weeks.

If you have never seen a copy, it is the main book that focuses on Imaginative Realism art made new each year. If science fiction, fantasy, and that type of art had a "best of the year" book, this is one of the few awards you can win. There are categories from editorial to institutional (where Magic card art illustrations are located), to book covers and unpublished personal work.

Generally, Magic tends to get a few card artworks in, and as of late, they have seen an uptick in inclusions. Since Spectrum submissions charge per piece entered, Magic chooses on behalf of the artists and pays the fee for entrance. It both is good to recognize artists, and also serves as a recruiting device for other artists. Most art directors thumb through it every year to find hidden talent, or a known artist who leveled up.

Within each of the categories, you can win the gold or silver award, with a trophy to be given at Spectrum Live, a convention. The unpublished category tends to be the most difficult to win. Magic has won before, and as of late, has been in the finalized category with multiple works.

For the newest version, Spectrum 26, we already know who won each category because Spectrum Live was months ago. As a reminder, this is who was up for the award:


Slippery Bogle by Jesper Ejsing won the best commissioned, institutional artwork of the year. Congrats again!

Slippery Bogle by Jesper Ejsing

Etrata, the Silencer by Bastien Lecouffe Deharme

Opt by Tyler Jacobson

As for the other inclusions, I have a list of previous years in case you are curious.

Spectrum 25

Spectrum 24

Spectrum 22

Spectrum 21

Spectrum 20

Congrats to all the included artists and it is an astonishing, unprecedented number of works. The quality on the whole never has been higher, and it's honoring work here is very much deserved and earned.

-Vorthos Mike

Kumena, Tyrant Of Orazca by Tyler Jacobson

Dominaria box art, Tyler Jacobson

Frilled Sea Serpent by Steven Belledin

Spoils of the Vault by Steven Belledin

Herald of Faith, Tommy Arnold

Syncopate by Tommy Arnold

Eternal Witness by Chris Rahn

Windgrace Acolyte by Bayard Wu

Marwyn, the Nurturer by Chris Rahn

Wrenn and Six by Chase Stone

Trostani Discordant by Chase Stone

Zhalfirin Void by Chase Stone

Karn, Scion of Urza by Chase Stone

Judith, the Scourge Diva by Chase Stone

Growth Spiral by Seb Mckinnon

Gift of Strength, Lius Lasahido

Ledev Guardian by Kimonas Theodossiou

Reviving Vapors by Bastien Lecouffe Deharme

Ministrant of Obligation by Bastien Lecouffe Deharme

Liliana, Untouched by Death by Bastien Lecouffe Deharme

Slimefoot, the Stowaway by Alex Konstad

Lathliss, Dragon Queen by Alex Konstad

Shalai, Voice of Plenty by Victor Adame Minguez

Aether Tunnel by Lucas Graciano

Bitterblossom by Jesper Ejsing

Safehold Elite by Jesper Ejsing

Golgari Guildgate by Eytan Zana

Precognitive Perception by Chris Rallis

Nissa, Vital Force by Terese Nielsen

Chandra, Torch of Defiance by Terese Nielsen

Benalish Honor Guard by Ryan Pancoast

Knight of Autumn by Ryan Pancoast

Ranger-Captain of Eos by Ryan Pancoast

Serra's Guardian by Magali Villeneuve

Blade Instructor, Zoltan Boros

League Guildmage by Svetlin Velinov

Frantic Search by Mitchell Malloy

Imperious Oligarch by Johannes Voss

Whisper, Blood Liturgist by Kieran Yanner

Rakdos, the Showstopper by Viktor Titov

Dovin, Architect of Law by Kieran Yanner

Krav, the Unredeemed by Randy Vargas

Skeleton Archer by Randy Vargas

Pashalik Mons by Even Amundsen

Naru Meha, Master Wizard by Matthew Stewart

Kaya, Orzhov Usurper by Yongjae Choi

Huatli, Warrior Poet by Tyler Jacobson

Teferi, Hero of Dominaria by Yongjae Choi

Pitiless Pontiff by Yongjae Choi

Deputy of Detention by G-host Lee

Sharktocrab by Jehan Choo

Limited time 30% buy trade in bonus buylist